Tuesday, April 11, 2006

First run through of Shakespeare tonight, took us three hours to do it and that was with some people skipping their monologues. The skipping was fine, but some people treated it like they were going to get their heads bit off if they didn't do it; most of them would whisper the first line, apologise, and sit down without actually getting up. We just did a cue to cue people, just repeat what you did there because you're not helping anybody mouthing an apology form your seat. I didn't mind so much that the q2q was agonosingly slow, since I don't expect people to know proper procedure in these sorts of things, but that monologue shit bugged me.

My stuff was great though; my Malvolio brought the house down though it was too over-the-top, and Alex and I did possibly our best Macbeth run ever that had people gasping and riveted. My monologue went okay, but wasn't as connected as it should have been. I'll talk to Ian about it Thursday but I already know what went wrong.

The other scenes were what I expected, though Prince surprised me with both his 12th Night scene with Brett and his Henry V monologue. He's gotten really watchable since scene study.

Speaking of Prince our Matrix fight is finished now, all the moves locked in for one last viewing with Simon. I expect he'll add one or two cool ways of doing things, minor adjustments that will increase our badassness by a factor of 5 to 10. Speaking of badass, I can do five tornado kicks in a row without stopping to hitch up; they all flow into another. It's pretty much the coolest thing anyone has ever seen me do ever.

...Except for that time I double-kicked Andrew's car as it drove by, and that ultimate catch I made when I jumped for it, missed, then turned, dove and caught it.

Tomb Raider: Legend hit today and I was going to get it but our tech run ran later than I thought it would. I'll probably pick it up tomorrow after stage combat and post some thoughts soon.

I've been waging a fierce intergalactic war against the Drengi Empire in GalCiv2 this week, with acceptable losses given their penchant for not defending their troop transports or colony ships. So far none of my planets have fallen and I've taken four worlds from them.

Big reason I've gotten back into GalCIv is because some guy on wcnews.com is developing a WC2 mod for it; I crave WC mods like candy these days.

I also got Alex hooked on Psychonauts, which I've been playing through again being a collection fiend. I'm on my favourite level of any game ever, The Milkman Conspiracy, and Alex loves the humour. Little-boy protagonists seem to be her gateway drug...

Dad recommended Lucky Number Slevin to me, so I think I'll check it out Good Friday. He saw and liked V and I told him to see Inside Man ASAP 'cuz I'm sure he'll like that too.

(I'm currently listening to my friend Bremner sing opera, and it's awesome.)

I have a history final tomorrow that I'm pretending to care about, so I'll get back to the books.